top of page
Search
meredithsnavea1

Meet The Designer of Zends!

In this week's post, Arizonan journalist Natalia Copperbottom will be interviewing Zends' own graphic and web designer, Meredith Evans.


1. What inspired you to create Zends?

Ever since I was little, I always loved creating things. I loved finger painting from a very early age and developed an interest in drawing soon after. Since then, my creative endeavors have expanded to many different mediums. Additionally, I have always been fascinated by animals, so I would draw them often. One day I was trying to find graphic shirts online but I struggled to find what I liked. I realized that I could just make the product that I want with the knowledge I have, so I launched Zends for others to enjoy as well.


2. What is your design process?

First, I'll make a rough sketch. The sketch is either on paper or y phone's drawing application. Then, I take a photo or screenshot of the sketch and place it into Adobe Illustrator. I trace the linework with the pen tool, color, and then add text. Lastly, I open Photoshop and place the image on top of a shirt image to show what the product would look like online.


3. Which animal from the Desert Division is your favorite?

This one is a bit tricky for me to answer. I really enjoy all of them and had a fun time drawing them. However, I think my final answer is the rattlesnake, Soren. I just like his big, goofy eyes and I think I added a lot of unique characteristics to him. Also, my friend named him so that makes him a little extra special to me.


4. What was the most challenging aspect of creating the Zends designs?

The most challenging part of making Zends is definitely figuring out how to make them unique. I wanted them to be animals but with some originality without it just being a normal animal. I hope I captured that with the art style I chose for this.


5. What is your advice to aspiring graphic designers?

Keep drawing, even if you aren't good at it. The phrase "practice makes perfect" is cliche and annoying, but it's true. Don't try to get too overwhelmed about how poor your work looks at first. Try to enjoy the process in the beginning, or else you might burn yourself out.


You can contact Meredith Evans through our contact page.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page